First Publication Complete!

by

As you all know, I’m Elizabeth Johnson, Sports Editor for The Murray State News. Our first publication went out on Friday, and believe me, it was stressful. But honestly, there’s nothing better than seeing your hard work in the hands of your reading audience.

At Murray State, we are implementing a new system in which each section has a designer and editor. This is taking a lot of adapting from last year where the editors did their own layout. In a way, it’s nice, but it’s still a work in progress. Unfortunately, with delay of our ads department, I pulled my first of many all-nighters this academic year.

But for the most part, the first issue couldn’t have gone any better. It’s so amazing to me how things can fall into place. I started the year with two other writers and myself. Now, I have two contributing writers which means I’m not writing half the section.

We’ll see how this next week goes. It’s been hard brainstorming story ideas, but unavoidable since none of our seasons have gotten underway. This week, the sports section will include feature stories, which can be fun, but can be difficult when writers are so used to a clean cut-and-dry recap and preview each week. Things are coming together though, and in time certain things will become easier and others harder. But there’s nothing I’d rather be doing that covering our athletic programs.

Feel free to check out our online edition of The Murray State News at www.thenews.org.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

